Pacific island

Australia is famous for cricket and rugby sports and it contains six states.

Australia has six states New South Wales (NEW), Queensland (OLD), South Australia (SA), Tasmania (TAD), Victoria(VIC) and Western Australia (WA) and two major mainland territories the Australian Capital Territory (ACT) and the Northern Territory (NT). In most respects these two territories function as states, but the Commonwealth Parliament can override any legislation of their parliaments. By contrast, federal legislation overrides state legislation only in areas that are set out in Section 51 of the Australian Constitution; state parliaments retain all residual legislative powers, including those over schools, state
police, the state judiciary, roads, public transport and local government, since these do not fall under the provisions listed in Section 51.

The federal parliament directly administers the following territories:

  • Ashmore and Cartier Islands
  • Australian Antarctic Territory
  • Christmas Island
  • Cocos (Keeling) Islands
  • Coral Sea Islands
  • Heard Island and McDonald Islands

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *